The Joy of Spring

The spring continues to bring new beauty every day. The leaf canopy is becoming full and the blooms continue to amaze. The summer perennials are showing signs of buds to thrill us soon.

This week, I visited a friend who has a marvelous garden and I will show you a few photos taken there.

I will be posting tomorrow morning with the Six On Saturday group. It is hosted by Jim Stephens at this link https://gardenruminations.co.uk/. Every Saturday, gardeners from around the world share six photos of the day or six recent photos. Come visit. Post 6 of your own and join us.

From my own garden, here is an Eastern Tiger Swallowtail. It has its host plant, a tulip poplar (Liriodendron tulipifera) just behind my deck. This is the state butterfly of Alabama.

Next is an Itoh type peony “Bartzella”. It is a large magnificent bloom. It has sturdy stems that don’t need staking.

The Jerusalem sage, Phlomis fruticosa is in full bloom and is making quite a statement just at the end of the perennial bed.

The next three are from my friend’s garden. The foam flower is a delicate shade loving perennial. He was generous to share some seedlings with me and I have some now in my shade garden

The cinnamon fern is a favorite of mine. This is in the same family as the Royal fern. This fern has a notable reddish brown fruiting spike.

The Iris were in a dappled shade area near a shallow drainage canal and were very healthy looking.

Our weather continues to be magnificent and so enjoyable.

Happy gardening !

Author: topdock

Traveller Gardener

12 thoughts on “The Joy of Spring”

  1. The flowers of this yellow peony are surprisingly large! Bravo, they are amazing! Do you have a lot? I noticed that on mine, the flower buds are very numerous this year and I’ll get a lot. The firsts are opening.

    Like

  2. Your peony is superb, I too have Bartzella, bought new last year, but I don’t remember it having so many petals. Mine isn’t flowering yet, so I’ll have to be patient. Lovely swallowtail butterfly, we don’t have them here in the SW of the UK unfortunately.

    Like

  3. That’s a beautiful butterfly – what gorgeous markings and colours. I have Peony Bartzella and this will be its third year in the garden. So far I haven’t had a single flower from it. You have succeeded – wish me luck for this year, because it’s a beauty as your photo shows. Enjoy your good weather – ours has picked up now, though still cold.

    Like

  4. A gorgeous Peony! I have a yellow Itoh peony but it is far from being ready to flower yet. Lovely to see a swallowtail too. I dream of seeing them here and get perhaps one sighting a year on average!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started