Joy of Spring and April Showers

The canopy of the trees is full now. Songbirds are in full throat and the woodpeckers are hammering. Many of the perennials are showing signs of blooms now after the daffodils and irises have done their thing.

Today, I have a few vegetables to show you in addition to perennials and a native or two.

The temperatures have been wonderful and the days have been sunny. Where are the April showers? We could use some rain. I have had to use more water than planned for my transplants.

Saturday morning, I will be posting on the Six On Saturday site hosted by Jim Stephens. Come join us to see gardens around the globe. Take 6 photos of your own and let us know what interests you in your garden. The link is here https://gardenruminations.co.uk

The salvias are full now. Sorry if the photo looks a little washed out since this was early afternoon light.

This lantana is a perennial and this is its third year. It can grow quite large in the yard so this one is containerized.

I am quite excited by the hydrangea here. Last two years, it was affected by very cold weather during the winter but it was spared this winter. It blooms on last years stems so it can be a hit and miss.

The walking onion patch is quite alive. It is a novelty but it captures my attention.

I have a very healthy small potato patch this year. This variety is “Carola” which is said to be a delicious white. I am looking forward to it.

The last photo is an Alabama native, Viburnum acerifolium. It is new to my yard and is in its first blooming.

Hope your weather is letting you out to enjoy your garden. Happy Gardening,

Author: topdock

Traveller Gardener

13 thoughts on “Joy of Spring and April Showers”

  1. I too am captivated by the walking onions that I have been growing for over 2 years. It’s really fascinating , very good and very easy to grow. My lantana is at about the same stage. The first flowers are opening now but mine is pale yellow.
    Potatoes are in the spotlight in our 2 SoS, but you’re ahead. Just like this wonderful hydrangea already in bloom! Well done…

    Like

  2. I must add walking onions to my wish list, they are such fun. You can have some of our rain Doc, there are some soggy English gardens here. Trouble is getting the clouds to blow back your way will be nigh on impossible.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We are maybe not too far behind you. Canopies filling out, crab apple beginning to bloom, early natives coming along. I have kale and some cool weather seeds that are coming up, so that is awesome! Lovely viburnum! It is warm and humid like summer here, so things should be in full swing soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Although I don’t know that Viburnum, and not sent that flower before, those leaves did remind me of other viburnums, their early summer perfection shines out.

    Like

  5. Your vegetable garden is growing well – I’m sure you’ll enjoy the day they appear on your table. Your hydrangea is about to flower and there’s not yet a bud on any of mine (sigh). I love the leaves on the Maple Leaf Viburnum – do they colour up in Autumn?

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started